‘International Pop’ at Walker Art Center – Artists on View

Artists / Curators / Exhibition Announcements / History / pop-art
International Pop

Installation View of the Exhibition ‘International Pop’, Walker Art Center, Minneapolis, 2015

Walker Art Center

‘International Pop’ at Walker Art Center

  Organized by the Walker Art Center and on view April 11 through August 29, 2015, ‘International Pop’ is a groundbreaking historical survey that chronicles the global emergence of Pop Art from the mid-1950s to the early 1970s.
Find out more about all shown artists on this page.
Following the Walker’s presentation, the exhibition will travel to the Dallas Museum of Art (October 11, 2015 – January 17, 2016) and the Philadelphia Museum of Art (February 18 – May 15, 2016).
More details on the Walker Art Center artist-info ‘International Pop’ exhibition page.

  Another groundbreaking and important survey later this year is underscoring the Walker Art Center ‘International Pop’ exhibition by Darsie Alexander and Bartholomew Ryan and its new aproach: ‘The World Goes Pop’ at the Tate Modern, 17 September 2015–24 January 2016, with more details on the Tate Modern artist-info ‘The World Goes Pop’ exhibition page.

  Pop is among the most broadly recognized phenomena of postwar art, primarily identified with Britain and the U.S. In truth, however, the Pop impulse was strikingly nomadic, contagiously spreading not only through Britain and the U.S. but also Japan, Latin America, and

both Eastern and Western Europe. From its inception, Pop migrated across borders and media, seizing the power of mass media and communication to reach a new class of viewers and adherents who would be drawn to its dynamic attributes. Yet, as this exhibition will reveal, distinct iterations of Pop were developing worldwide that alternatively celebrated, cannibalized, rejected, or transformed some of the presumed qualities of Pop in the U.S. and Britain.

  Curated by Darsie Alexander (now Katonah Museum) with Bartholomew Ryan (now The Andy Warhol Museum) for the Walker Art Center in consultation with an international group of scholars and curators, International Pop asserts that Pop was not a singular artistic style or brand, but a roving spirit and ethos moving with unprecedented force through culture at large in the 1960s through a new abundance of everyday commodities, mass media production, and mainstream advertising.

  A key ambition of the exhibition is to show artists in the specific contexts from which they emerged, as well as to create relations between works across time and place. The exhibition is therefore organized into contextual sections—specific places or institutions—and broader thematic sections:


New Realisms – The Image Travels & the Archive Shifts – Distribution & Domesticity – Pop & Politics – Love & Despair


Britain: The Independent Group & the New Scene
Germany: Capitalist Realism
Brazil: The New Consciousness
Argentina: The Instituto Torcuato Di Tella & Pop Lunfardo
Japan: The Sōgetsu Art Center & Tokyo Pop

‘International Pop’ at Walker Art Center – 140 Artists on View by Exhibition Section

New Realisms
Thomas Bayrle (*1937)
Antônio Dias (*1944)
Jim Dine (*1935)
Richard Hamilton (1922-2011)
Jean-Pierre Mirouze (*1936)
Robert Rauschenberg (1925 - 2008)
Martial Raysse (*1936)
James Rosenquist (*1933)
Mimmo Rotella (1918-2006)
Niki de Saint Phalle [Niki Matthews] (1930-2002)
Mario Schifano (1934-1998)
Shinohara Ushio (*1932)
Jean Tinguely (1925-1991)
Andy Warhol (1928-1987)
The Image Travels, The Archive Shifts
Bruce Conner (1933-2008)
Antônio Dias (*1944)
Rosalyn Drexler (*1926)
Ray Johnson (1927-1995)
Jirí Kolár (1914-2002)
Július Koller (1939-2007)
Roy Lichtenstein (1923-2997)
Eduardo Paolozzi (1924-2005)
Peter Roehr (1944-1968)
Tanaami Keiichi (*1936)
Distribution & Domesticity
Billy Apple (*1935)
ERRÓ, [Gudmundur Gudmundsson] (*1932)
Marisol (Maria Sol Escabar) (*1930)
Robert Indiana (*1928)
Edward Ruscha (*1937)
Shinohara Ushio (*1932)
Paul Thek (1933-1988)
Wayne Thiebaud (*1920)
Robert Watts (1923-1988)
Tom Wesselmann (1931-2004)
Pop & Politics
Genpei Akasegawa (1937-2014)
Thomas Bayrle (*1937)
Waldemar Cordeiro (1925-1973)
Jorge de la Vega (1930-1971)
Öyvind Fahlström (1928-1976)
León Ferrari (1920-2013)
Jasper Johns (*1930)
Kudo Tetsumi (1935-1990)
Sergio Lombardo (*1939)
Marcello Nitsche (*1942)
Hélio Oiticica (1937-1980)
Yoko Ono (*1933)
Yoko Ono & John Lennon (*1933, 1940-1980)
Tiger (Kouichi) Tateishi (*1941)
Cláudio Tozzi (*1944)
Love & Despair
Evelyne Axell (1935-1972)
Waldemar Cordeiro (1925-1973)
Rosalyn Drexler (*1926)
Tano Festa (1938-1988)
Jann Haworth (*1942)
David Hockney (*1937)
Pino Pascali(1935-1968)
Wanda Pimentel (*1943)
Michelangelo Pistoletto (*1933)
Marjorie Strider (1934-2014)
Andy Warhol (1928-1987)
Jerzy Ryszard 'Jurry' Zielinski (1943-1980)
Jana Želibská (*1941)
Shop Window
Genpei Akasegawa (1937-2014)
Clive Barker (*1940)
Christo [Christo Javacheff] (*1935)
Fluxus: "Eric Andersen (*1940), George Brecht (1926-2008), John Cale (*1926), John Cavanaugh (1921-1985), Albert Fine (1932-1987), Ken Friedman (*1949), Fred Lieberman (1940-2013), George Maciunas (1931-1978), Yoko Ono (*1933), Ben Patterson (*1934), Willem de Ridder (*1939), James Riddle (*1933), Paul Sharits (1943-1993), Bob Sheff (*1945), Stanley Vanderbeek (1927-1984), Ben Vautier (*1935), Robert Watts (1923-1988)"
Jasper Johns (*1930)
Yayoi Kusama (*1929)
Cildo Meireles (*1948)
Colin Self (*1941)
Andy Warhol (1928-1987)
Robert Watts (1923-1988)
Britain: The Independent Group & The New Scene
Peter Blake (*1932)
Derek Boshier (*1937)
Pauline Boty (1938-1966)
Richard Hamilton (1922-2011)
Eduardo Paolozzi (1924-2005)
Joe Tilson (*1928)
Germany: Capitalist Realism
Capitalist Realism Portfolio: "K. P. Brehmer (1938-1997), K. H. Hödicke (*1938), Konrad Lueg (1939-1996), Sigmar Polke (1941-2010), Gerhard Richter (*1932), Wolf Vostell(1932-1998)"
Manfred Kuttner (1937-2007)
Konrad Lueg (1939-1996)
Sigmar Polke (1941-2010)
Gerhard Richter (*1932)
Brazil: The New Consciousness
Antônio Henrique Amaral (*1935)
Raymundo Colares (1944-1986)
Antônio Dias (*1944)
Rubens Gerchman (1942-2008)
Nelson Leirner (*1932)
Anna Maria Maiolino (*1942)
Antonio Manuel (*1947)
Marcello Nitsche (*1942)
Décio Noviello (*1929)
Cláudio Tozzi (*1944)
Andy Warhol (1928-1987)
Argentina: Instituto Torcuato Di Tella & Pop Lunfardo
Edgardo Giménez (*1942) & Marilu Marini (*1945) & Dalila Puzzovio (*1942) & Alfredo Rodriguez Arias (*1944) & Charlie Squirru (*1934) & Juan Stoppani (1935)
Delia Cancela & Pablo Mesejean (*1940, 1937-1991)
Eduardo Costa (*1940)
Edgardo Giménez (*1942)
Edgardo Giménez & Dalila Puzzovio & Charlie Squirru ( (*1942, *1942, *1934)
Marta Minujín (*1943)
Marta Minujín & Rubén Santantonín (*1937, *?)
Dalila Puzzovio (*1942)
Charlie Squirru (*1934)
Japan: Sogetsu Art Center
Jasper Johns (*1930)
Kojima Nobuaki (*1935)
Okamoto Shinjiro (*1933)
Robert Rauschenberg (1925-2008)
Shinohara Ushio (*1932)
Tanaami Keiichi (*1936)
Tezuka Osamu (1928-1989)
Yokoo Tadanori (*1936)
Keep reading
Share this on